The Monster Who Hated Pennsylvania

The Monster Who Hated Pennsylvania by Damien Jurado will be out on his own label, Maraqopa Records on May 14th 2021. The album contains ten intense stories of people determined not to be broken by dire circumstances. The self-produced album is sonically among Damien Jurado’s most exposed, homespun ambiance and inspired by the dry sound of records like Lou Reed’s The Bells and Paul McCartney’s Ram. Jurado creates his own Twilight Zone, “a middle ground between light and shadow”, a dimension of imagination, of half-remembered dreams and people reaching out to cross into that liminal space between heartbreak and wholeness. Jurado knows the territory well and knows the secret words to whisper at the right time. “All is not lost/Even if you’re without a direction.” “Just stick around till the light pushes into the darkness,” Damien promises - or admits - Press your eye to the speaker, tune your ear to the horizon.


The Monster Who Hated Pennsylvania Track List

01 Helena

02 Tom

03 Dawn Pretend

04 Song For Langston Birch

05 Minnesota

06 Johnny Caravella

07 Joan

08 Hiding Ghosts

09 Jennifer

10 Male Customer #1